Minimum Requirements

Age: Must be at least 20 years plus 6 months of age at the time of the entrance examination and not more than 44 years of age at the time of hire.
Education:
  • High school diploma/graduate; or
  • 12 semester hours credit from an accredited college or university and has passed a general educational development (GED) test indicating high school graduation level (Applicants with a GED must submit a certificate by the issuing agency (i.e.: Texas Education Agency))
Police Officers
Civil Service: Must comply with all applicable Civil Service requirements and regulations. Additionally, The Texas Commission on Law Enforcement Standards and Education has clear rules on eligibility and licensing for individuals to be Peace Officers.

Other Requirements


  • 40 minute response time from permanent residence to corporate City limit
  • Birth Certificate issued by the Bureau of Vital Statistics
  • Proof of valid driver's license with an acceptable driving record