News Flash Home
The original item was published from 2/7/2020 11:05:17 AM to 5/8/2020 12:00:04 AM.

News Flash

Press Releases

Posted on: February 7, 2020

[ARCHIVED] Mayor Elected CAPCOG Executive Committee Chair

Mayor Jane Hughson

San Marcos Mayor Jane Hughson is the new Chair of the Executive Committee for the Capital Area Council of Governments (CAPCOG).  

“I am honored to work alongside other area leaders in this new role.  We are truly a regional board of leaders working to strengthen the CAPCOG region by supporting urban and rural local governments through coordination, collaboration, and sharing of ideas and resources,” said Mayor Hughson.

CAPCOG operates in the ten-county Capital area with more than 90-member governments and organizations, including cities, counties, school and appraisal districts, utilities, chambers of commerce and more. 

The 29-member Executive Committee, CAPCOG’s governing body, comprises city and county elected officials and four nonvoting state legislator seats nominated and selected annually to serve from January through December.  They provide direction to CAPCOG staff on program implementation, budgets, contracts and general policies and procedures for managing the agency.  The Executive Committee also serves as the board of managers for the Capital Area Emergency Communications District.

Mayor Hughson has served on the CAPCOG General Assembly for five years and the Executive Committee for three years.  She also serves on the following policy committees: Capital Area Economic Development District, Inc., Capital Area Regional Transportation Planning Organization, and the Central Texas Clean Air Coalition.

Learn more about CAPCOG and what they do for your community at


Facebook Twitter Email